Wednesday, May 19, 2010

More About My Life

There are times in my life that I actually do exercise. Actually I do it more than most people in America. I went to go exercise with Mom and Emily the other night and we got our butt kicked. We did something 'fun' on the track. We would skip, hop, do criss crosses, etc. on one of the straights. Then we would we would walk the curve. Then for the next straight we would go on to the smaller bleachers and go up and down up and down the stairs. Just so you know that is alot. We went up and down about four times and then we would go walk the curve and start all over. We ended up doing about 2 miles of this. One of the straights, I got this crazy idea. Mom so didn't want to do it either but I got her to do it. My crazy idea was to do lunges and squats the length of the field. I about killed my legs I think. It was so hard. Mom almost made it all the way and I was so proud of her. Then, after exhausting our legs, we go do bleachers. I was doing really good until it was my last time up. About four steps, my foot missed a bleacher and down I went. My right leg took most of the force and skid down the bleacher. I tried to catch myself. Luckily my hands were able to watch my body so that my face didn't get hammered by the metal bleachers. It hurt so bad. I was kind of disoriented. I was like, "what just happened?" Then I decided that I didn't want to stop so even though it hurt so so so bad, I made it up the rest of the bleachers and kind of hobbled down. I had scratches on my leg and my leg was definitely banged up. Below are some pictures of the bruises I got. I think they are awesome. You can hardly see them. They are yellow so that means it is getting better. :)





I got some new glasses for my mission. They were pretty cheap too. 59 dollars. The experience to get them that cheap was quite the experience. We go into Lens Crafters I think and we ask about the special they had on the glasses. This guy tells us all about it and said that I would have to get tommy hilfigure glasses. So, I look for some glasses and found some that I really like. Mom finds some also hoping that she would be able to get some prescription sunglasses. So, we go to this guy who is supposed to know everything about his job. We sit down with him and he starts to 'crunch some numbers.' I don't know what he was doing. For some reason, my glasses ended up being 109 dollars and moms about 200. Then we were looking at each other and asking him, "what happened to the 79 dollars for both glasses?" He could not explain it. It was pretty unbelievable. He then took moms glasses out of the price and then all of a sudden the price of my glasses went up to 120 or something like that. It just didn't make sense and we asked again what happened to the 59 dollars for a pair of glasses? Again, he could not explain it. He was able to after a LONG while. I was even getting frustrated with this guy. Eventually after thirty minutes, we got the price we wanted. I still don't know what was taking him so long to figure it out. All I have to say is that was the worst customer service I have ever gotten. He was horrible. Make sure you know your stuff please. It will make life easier. :) So here are my glasses. :)



My Life

So what is new in the life of Amanda???
I leave for Provo June 2nd. I am so very excited and now I am getting somewhat nervous. I am not scared. I am just nervous. I just cannot believe that I am actually going to be leaving for a year and a half. If I am already nervous now, I wonder what it is going to be like when I say it is going to be tomorrow that I leave. I guess I get to experience that soon. Wish me skill as I go and serve the Lord. I leave in exactly 2 weeks today. I get to hop on a plane June 2 at 7:30 in the morning. I am going to have to wake up way early to actually GO to the airport. I believe that Grandma and Grandpa Ralph are going to pick me up from the Salt Lake City Airport at 10:30 and then they will drive me to the Missionary Training Center. I am not really looking forward to saying goodbye to everyone. I am really glad though that Mom got to take her final the day before I leave. This way, she will be able to take me to the airport and hug me goodbye. She better not cry too much. My bishop told me that I am going to get set apart as a missionary the monday before I leave. On May 30, I get to do my Farewell talk. It is a good topic and have so many ideas for it. It is kind of hard to organize it because I have so many ideas. I am at the MTC for about three weeks and then I am going to go to Kentucky and suffer the humidity right when I get there. Joy! I will still keep updating my blog through Bubba. I will send Emails to Bubba and then Bubba will post them on here for me. I went to the Mesa Temple about a month ago I think. It was such a beautiful experience. I loved having family come. Well, that is pretty much all for the mission for now. I really can't wait to start my experience. I heard nothing but good comes from it.

Friday, May 7, 2010

Look at all the Pretty Things

So, I officially stink at putting pictures on my blogs. I just don't do a good job at it. There is some good new though. I got it in the order that I wanted it in.

Soooo, this is the side yard now. All done. It looks so so so good. Agreed?? The yard looks so much bigger than it was. There used to be piles of rocks instead of layed out rocks. And the brick is just wonderfully beautiful. I love it! Definitely worth the time and money.



These next couple pictures are of my cousin Audrey. She does not like me very much. She has said my name a couple times lately and tonight she even gave me a hug! We are showing improvement. :) This little girl is just the cutest. She was at the piano and I just had to take a couple pictures. She is showing talent already. Look at those arms go!

Mingled with Audrey's pictures is a picture of Buck. I was making Tori's bed with her and buck would not move. So, I just put the pillows on top of him. He stayed there for quite a while.













Mom, Emily and I had fun this lovely friday night. It was the first friday night I have had for, lets see, 8 months. I had fun. We made a whole bunch of hair things. My sweaty hands didn't like it so much but I loved making them. The one above is one that my mom made. I made the black one below. It my favorite one I think.

I made this red one also.

Mom made the rest below. I really like the brown one. And all the other ones. The green and pink one is for Tori. Can you tell?? So colorful and so HER! Yeah. It has been fun with no work and finally NO SCHOOL! 26 Days 'til I leave for Utah!






Saturday, May 1, 2010

<--- Disregard for now.


Today started early. Earlier than usual for a Saturday. I woke up from a text from a friend at 6:30 and kept talking to her and then I got up forcefully by myself at 8:00. Then it was go go go go all day. We had a project to do outside. We are doing the side yard, AGAIN, and this time we are going to complete it. It is looking so gosh darn good. Last night, mom and whoever else, took all the rock we had on the side and took it out and dumped it on the patio. There was a ton of rock. Today, mom and i made a contraption that served as a 'stainer.' We then had to take at least 4 shovel fulls of rock and dump it onto the strainer and then we shook all the dirt out of the rock. This was no easy task. There was dirk everywhere! I am however the only one that looked like they got dirty. I don' t understand why either. So, here are the after pictures of me. I will show you the side yard when it is totally finished.




I got hurt. I was lifting a big bucket full of dirt and it was so heavy. The bucket broke and it clipped me. I am surprised my fingernail didn't break halfway down. It made me bleed and it hurt when I washed it but then it was back to work for me.











After 3+ hours of doing all that, I washed my face and Bubba and Jaden got lunch. I ate that and then got ready for work. I took a twenty minute shower I think. I washed my hair twice and soaped up twice...and shaved my legs. It felt so good to take a shower.

I went to work and thank goodness I was only working a four hour shift. I was so tired. Shoveling rock is not the easiest thing to do. But, it was my last day as a cashier. Sad sad. My managers cried. Well, two of them. I got a couple numbers and addresses from co-workers. Who knows if they will write back but I have made some good friends and was very sad to leave. I almost cried. They gave me a cookie cake (which was not very good). It said "we will miss you Amanda." How sweet of them to do that for me. They totally didn't want me to go. I was one of their best employees. Anyway. I am guarenteed a job back with them when I get back. And the best part of it all is...I DON'T HAVE TO WORK SUNDAY'S ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAHOO!!!! :)

Below is the cookie cake they gave me. :)